How to contact us
World Renewable Energy Congress / Network

c/o Prof. A. Sayigh
Flat 3, Building 5-6
Clarendon Terrace
United Kingdom

+44 (0)1273 625643

M: 0044 (0) 7973316934


WREC Trophy / Competitions and Awards
World Renewable Energy Congress / Ali Sayigh Trophy

WREC Trophy
The introduction of a "World Renewable Energy Congress / Ali Sayigh Trophy” was recommended at the World Renewable Energy Congress 2004 in Denver, USA. The proposal for the trophy was submitted by New Zealand / Prof Ralph Sims and Iceland / Prof Thorsteinn Sigfusson.

Purpose of the trophy

The trophy, which was designed by an Icelandic artist, was prepared within the period between WREC VIII and IX. It was awarded for the first time at the 2006 conference in Florence. The trophy is awarded to the country with the highest percentage increase in renewable energy application within the two years preceding the congress. The trophy stays with the winning country until the following World Renewable Energy Congress where, based on the same principles, another or the same country can be awarded.

The award committee consists of several leading scientists and engineers and is headed by Prof Ralph Sims and Prof Thorsteinn Sigfusson. To date the trophy has been awarded to Cyprus in 2006, Brazil in 2008 and Germany in 2010. The recipient for 2012 will be Spain

WREC trophy award 2006 - Cyprus

Handing over of the Trophy in Florence 2006
The trophy was presented for the first time at the WREC IX congress dinner at Palazzo Pitti in Florence. It was handed over to the winning country Cyprus by the president of Iceland, Olafur Ragnar Grimsson, to the Cyprus representative, Mr Solon Kasinis, who is director of the energy services of the Cyprus Ministry of Energy.

Further details and the speech of the president of Iceland can be found in the WREC IX - Final Congress Report:

> WREC IX - Final Congress Report [pdf - 906 KB]
WREC trophy award 2008 - Brazil

Handing over of the Trophy in Glasgow 2008
At the 2008 WREC X congress the trophy was presented to Brazil during the congress dinner at the Plaza Hotel in Glasgow. The trophy was received by Minister Flávio Marega from the Embassy of Brazil in London.

WREC trophy award 2010 - Germany

Handing over of the Trophy in Abu Dhabi 2010
He trophy was awarded for the third time at the WREC XI congress in Abu Dhabi, UAE and went to the Federal Republic of Germany. The trophy was presented at the congress dinner to Acting Ambassador Frank Neumann, who received the award on behalf of Dr. Norbert Röttgen, the Federal Environment Minister of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Further details on the award can be found in the following press release:

> WREC XI trophy award press release [pdf - 195 KB]
Recognising of Outstanding Contributions to the Development of Renewable Energy

Some of the Pioneers at WREC VIII in Denver
WREC/WREN recognises outstanding contributions of individuals to the development of renewable energy through the awarding of medals and certificates at the biennial World Renewable Energy Congress (WREC). In addition WREC/WREN also holds open competitions.

Pioneers are selected every two years for their outstanding contribution to renewable energy over many years and their devotion to use renewable energy in their own daily life. The WREC pioneers receive their awards at the biennial World Renewable Energy Congress (WREC).

WREC IX Pioneers

Professor George Baird, Professor Joe Clarke, Professor Michael G Hutchins, Dr Fred Morse, Professor Robert E. Critoph, Dr Faiq Billal, Dr Ulrich Schmidtchen, Mrs Cettina Gallo, Dr Barbara Farhar

> WREC 2006 Pioneers [pdf - 1039 KB]
WREC X Pioneers

Prof Irene Alica Blasco Lucas from Argentina at WREC X in Glasgow
Dr May Christine Sengendo, Dr Indra Haraksingh, Dr Soteris Kalogirou, Mrs Dorota Chwieduk, Professor Irene Blasco Lucas, Mr James Husbands

> WREC 2008 Pioneers [pdf - 357 KB]
WREC XI Pioneers

H E Dr Hilal Al-Hinai, Professor David Elliott, Mr Henk de Beijer, Professor Philip C Eames, Dr Falah S Hasoon, Dr David S Renné, Professor John K Kaldellis, Dr Gouri Datta, Dr Chuck Kutscher

> WREC 2008 Pioneers [pdf - 351 KB]
WREC Renewable Energy Awards

The WREC Renewable Energy Awards were established in 1998, during the 5th edition of the WREC Congress in Florence as a way to recognize outstanding achievement and vision in the global renewable energy sector.

The WREC Renewable Energy Awards aim at highlighting the worldwide best-implemented policies, projects and research in the following topics:
  • Fuel Cells and Hydrogen
  • Low Energy Architecture
  • Solar Energy
  • Wind Technology
  • Biomass
  • Sustainable Transport
  • Green Energy Business
At the WREC X congress in Glasgow the WREC Special Award was given to H E Dr Abdulaziz Othman Altwaijri, Director General of Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (ISESCO) and Dr Dan Arvizu, Director of the US Department of Energy’ (NREL), Golden, Colorado, USA for their outstanding contribution to renewable energy.

> WREC 2008 Special Award [pdf - 176 KB]
Ali Sayigh Trophy Award Denver 2012

Handing over the trophy Denver 2012
The trophy is awarded to Spain for their strive in putting the maximum renewable energy applications during the year 2010-2012.

The award was handed to His Excellency Charge d' Affaire of Spain

2012 Pioneers recipients

Denmark 2014 - Country Award

Handing over of the Trophy to Denmark 2014
Then Prof Ali Sayigh /WREN Trophy, was presented to the acting Ambassador of Denmark and his assistant, Denmark was chosen by the technical committee as the best country which had increased its renewable energy capacity to the greatest extent over the last two preceding years.


Group Photo on the Sea Front
This is WREN no. 92 around the World. Selection of top speakers and in house seminar for the whole week. Full board 4-star hotel and technical as well as cultural visits are included. This is for graduates, experts, policy makers, industrialists and researchers. The Seminar is at one of the most attractive city in the UK. It is at Brighton City by the sea. It is open to all UN nations.

Award of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia for Environmental Management in the Islamic World (

Environmental Compitision

Award of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia for Environmental Management in the Islamic World (, whose General Secretariat is managed by ISESCO under the supervision of the General Authority of Meteorology and Environmental Protection of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.


Last update 02/03/2017